UK Places Nigeria On Covid-19 Red List

UK Places Nigeria On Covid-19 Red List
UK Places Nigeria On Covid-19 Red List

The United Kingdom has added Nigeria to its “red list,” requiring all in-bound travellers and arrivals from the nation to take a COVID-19 test.

Health Secretary Sajid Javid made the statement on Saturday, saying that the stricter standards would take effect at 4:00 a.m. on Tuesday and that Nigeria “is second only to South Africa” in terms of Omicron cases.

“From 5 December 2021, all out-bound passengers are required to provide either valid evidence of full vaccination against Covid-19 or a negative PCR test result within 48 hours of departure,” the British government’s website said. 

The pre-departure tests, which must be completed at least 48 hours before departure, will be required starting at 4:00 a.m. on Tuesday for all visitors arriving in the UK.

Nigeria has joined the growing list of African countries, with the exception of those in North Africa, that have been designated as high-risk countries on red lists.

Since the Omicron strain was discovered in South Africa, travel prohibitions have been imposed on countries such as South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, and Eswatini.

On December 1, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) confirmed two cases of the Omicron variation, stating that both cases were discovered by genome sequencing and that the illnesses were linked to two South African passengers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

6 + 13 =