U.S Slams Visa Ban On Oshiomhole, Ganduje, Others For Undermining Democracy

U.S Slams Visa Ban On Oshiomhole, Ganduje, Others For Undermining Democracy

The United States government has slammed a visa ban on former Edo state governor and ex-National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Adams Oshiomhole, Kano State governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, and Kogi governor, Yahaya Bello.

The U.S. announced the latest sanctions in a statement issued by its spokesperson for the Department of State, Morgan Ortagus, on Monday

On the other hand, Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna – has been banned from entering the US since 2010 over a graft case – had his visa ban extended.

The US official said more Nigerian politicians may be included on the visa ban list after the Edo governorship election if they are involved in electoral malpractice.

The statement read in part: “In July 2019, we announced the imposition of visa restrictions on Nigerians who undermined the February and March 2019 elections. Today, the Secretary of State is imposing additional visa restrictions on individuals for their actions surrounding the November 2019 Kogi and Bayelsa states elections and in the run-up to the September and October 2020 Edo and Ondo states elections.

READ ALSO: Vote Your Conscience – Odigie-Oyegun Tells Edo Electorate

“These individuals have so far operated with impunity at the expense of the Nigerian people and have undermined democratic principles.

“The Department of State emphasises that the actions announced today are specific to certain individuals and not directed at the Nigerian people. This decision reflects the Department of State’s commitment to working with the Nigerian Government to realise its expressed commitment to end corruption and strengthen democracy, accountability, and respect for human rights,” it added.

It is worthwhile to note that the banned persons are all public officers (past and present) who are members of the All Progressives Congress (APC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

fourteen + fifteen =