Restructuring Is Expedient For The Survival Of Nigeria - Lawan
Ijaw News - Niger Delta Stories

The Pan Niger Delta Forum has called an emergency “General Meeting” for Monday, to discuss a measure in the House of Representatives that would change the Constitution to eliminate the 13% oil derivation formula enjoyed by oil-producing states, particularly in the South-South geopolitical zone.

The bill has sparked outrage, particularly in the Niger Delta. learnt that the law currently undergoing second reading was co-sponsored by 59 House members from northern states, including the Northern Caucus’ leader, Musa Sarkin-Adar.
The proposal aims to repeal Section 162(2) of the 1999 Constitution, which deals with Federation management.

Senator Emmanuel Essien, PANDEF’s National Chairman and former Deputy Chief Whip of the Senate, issued an open invitation to the virtual meeting on Friday, inviting governors of states in the Niger Delta and members of the National Assembly from the oil-rich region.
‘Agenda: The Bill to Delete Subsection 2, Section 162 of the 1999 Constitution (as modified), sponsored by 59 Northern Members of the House of Representatives,’ according to the invitation.

“The following persons and groups are also invited to attend: representatives of the South-South governors, speakers of the South-South states, members of the National Assembly from the region – serving and former members of the National Assembly,” the invitation stated in part.

Other invitees are the Director-General of BRACED Commission, traditional rulers, presidents of ethnic organisations, leadership of oil and gas host communities, leaders of ethnic youth organisations, leaders of relevant CSOs, CBOs, women and youth groups in the region and other strategic stakeholders.”

However, on Friday night, several of the bill’s co-sponsors could not be reached for comment on the bill’s concept.

Some of the sponsors are; Babangida Ibrahim, Musa Sarkin-Adar, Abdulganiyu Olododo, Mansur Manu Soro, Tijjani Zakariya, Usman Shiddi, Mohd Yakubu, Mohd Yakubu, Muhammad Jega, Bello Shinkafi, Aliyu Yako, Bashir Mashema, Abdullahi Halims, Shehu Rijau, Hamisu Ibrahim, Ahmad Bakura, Abdul


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

19 − one =