Otiotio, Sylva’s Associate wins Bayelsa APC Chairmanship Poll

Trouble In APC Camp As New Faction Emerges, Disbands Caretaker Committee

By Yemi Akintomide

Otiotio, Sylva’s Associate wins Bayelsa APC Chairmanship Poll, Ijaw News - Niger Delta Stories

Chief Dennis Otiotio, a political associate of Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva, has been elected as the All Progressives Congress’s Bayelsa Chairman (APC).

Yusuf Adejo, a retired Deputy Commissioner of Police (DSP) and Chairman of the state congress planning committee, revealed this on Saturday in Yenogoa when he announced the congress results.

Mr Dan Igrubia, who received eight votes, was defeated by Otiotio, who received 582 votes, according to Adejo.

During the congress, he added, Mr Ebipadei Fekoweimo was also elected as the state APC Secretary.

Adejo said the winners were determined by a fair election, and he asked party supporters in the state to keep the momentum going.

Otiotio in his acceptance speech, promised to reposition the party to ensure its victory in the 2023 general election.

“The Bayelsa people are yearning for good governance, which the APC is known for, we will do our best to ensure that the party is repositioned in the state to take its right position,” he said.

The congress was monitored by the officials of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and other stakeholders in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three + fourteen =