#OndoDecides: Akeredolu Wins Second Term As Governor

#OndoDecides: Akeredolu Wins Second Term As Governor

Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressive Congress (APC) has emerged winner of the just concluded Ondo State governorship election defeating Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the seconds time to win re-election as governor.

Akeredolu was declared winner on Sunday by the chief returning officer for the election, Professor Idowu Olayinka after polling 292,830 votes as against the 195,791 and 69,127 votes secured by Jegede and Agboola Ajayi respectively.

Olayinka said, “I hereby certify that I am the returning officer of the Ondo State election and that the election was conducted and the candidates received the following votes – Oluwarotimi Akeredolu got 292,830, Eyitayo Jegede got 195,791 and Agboola Ajayi got 69,127.

“That Oluwarotimi Akeredolu secured the highest number of votes among the 17 contestants. Moreover, he was expected to score 25 per cent in two-thirds of the state but he scored it across the 18 LGAs.

READ ALSO: #OndoDecides: Akeredolu In Early Lead, As INEC Declares Result From 12 LGs

“Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, I hereby declare Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu of the APC as the winner, and he is hereby returned elected,” Professor Olayinka said.

In his re-election campaign, the governor promised to provide composed and focused leadership marked by economic growth and improved security for people in the state.

Residents of the state came out across 3,009 polling units of 203 electoral wards/ registration areas in the 18 Local Government Areas (LGA) of the state, to choose their leader for the next four years.

It is worthwhile to note that, Akeredolu’s first tenure as governor will expire on February 23, 2021, from when he will begin his second 4-year tenure.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

four × 3 =