By Yemi Akintomide

Immediate past Governor of Ondo State, Dr. Rahman Olusegun Mimiko is currently paying host to four serving Governors of People Democratic Party (PDP) inside his expansion country home in Ondo City, Ondo State.

The four Governors are; Seyi Makinde (Oyo), Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Aminu Tambuwal, (Sokoto) Okezie Ipeazu, (Abia).

The secret meeting is coming ahead of the tick rumour of purported defection of Mimiko to PDP from his current party, Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), a party he single handedly formed on the eve of the 2020 Governorship Election in Ondo State.

The ZLP later presented, Agboola Ajayi, the embattled former deputy governor to Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN as candidate for the election.

Ajayi, who had earlier dumped the All Progressives Congress (APC), the party on the platform he ran a joint ticket with Akeredolu in 2016 and won, joined the PDP where he contested the primary with Eyitayo Jegede and lost.

The embattled deputy governor who had refused to leave the government even after he has left for PDP, then hurriedly pitched tent with Mimiko and got the ZLP nod to run against his boss as Governorship candidate.

Ajati lost the Governorship poll woefully, coming a distance third behind the winner, Akeredolu of APC and Jedege of PDP.

However, bearly a year after the October 10, 2020 Governorship Election, the news of Mimiko and his defeated political orphan, ZLP fusing into the PDP came strongly to pollute the political atmosphere of the Sunshine State.

The medical doctor turned politican is slated to formerly rejoin PDP today in Abuja, but instead, the Ondo close doors came up, probably to finalise the the defection plan.

Mimiko, a former Minister of Housing under the PDP administration led by former President Olusegun Obasanjo, dumped the PDP for Labour Party (LP), where he contested against the re-election of late Olusegun Agagu as Governor in 2007. He was later declared as winner by an Appeal Court that sat in Benin- City on February 23, 2009.

He again, left the Labour Party in 2014 during the running up to the 2015 Presidential Election, to support former President Goodluck Jonathan bid to retain power; after he won a re-election as Governor in 2012 on the strength of LP.

After Jonathan lost the Presidential Election to President Mohammedu Buhari of APC in 2015, Mimiko beat another retreat, dumping both the LP and PDP to form ZLP, after he has failed to produce a successor after expiration of his terms as Governor, and later failed in his attempt to get elected into the Senate in the 2019 National Assembly Election for Ondo Central Senatorial District.

Present at the Thursday meeting with the four PDP Go ernors are; former deputy governor Agboola Ajayi, three members of the Ondo State House of aAsembly (Rasheed Elegbeleye, Tomide Akinribido, Festus Akingbaso). former Speaker of ODHA, Jumoke Akindele, former Chief Judge of Ondo State, Olaseinde Kumuyi, and deputy governorship candidate of the ZLP in the 2020 election, Gboye Adegbenro, among.

Joseph Akinlaja, a former member of the House of Representatives and National Chairman of ZLP is also at the meeting.

Others include; former chairman of Ilaje Council area and Governorship aspirant of PDP, Banji Okunomo, as well as Dr Kola Ademujimi, Eni Akinsola, John-Paul Akinduro, Andrew Ogunsakin, Ayo Fadoju, Afolabi Akinsiku, Bolanle Olafunmiloye, Funmilola Oluwadare, Taye Afilaka among other top former senior aides to Mimiko.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

19 − 12 =