Keyamo, Ogboru, Timinimi, Others Boycott APC Congress in Delta

Trouble In APC Camp As New Faction Emerges, Disbands Caretaker Committee

The Delta Leaders’ Council of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has urged party supporters across the state to remain focused and resolute in the face of any provocation.

The council also assured members of the APC in Delta that they would be redeemed and saved from the clutches of those who seek to bargain with the party’s destiny in a statement released on Saturday in Abuja.

Festus Keyamo, the council’s chairman and minister of state for Labor and Employment, Alex Ideh, the council’s co-chairman, and Cairo Ojougboh, the council’s secretary, all signed the statement.

Others are Great Ogboru, 2019 Delta APC governorship candidate; Victor Ochei, former speaker, Delta House of Assembly; Mariam Ali, and George Timinimi, leader, Ijaw Nation and 12 others.

“We enjoin all APC faithful across Delta to remain focused and steadfast.

“We assure them that the party will be redeemed and rescued from the hands of those who want to trade what we all suffered to build for their selfish ends.

“The leaders and executives of the party in Delta would be calling general meetings of all APC faithful across the three Senatorial Districts of the state to reassure you that we are ready to take over Delta from PDP come 2023,” it said.

The council, however, said it was not part of the party’s State Congresses, saying it was a sham that should not be recognised or accepted.

“We are calling on the national leadership of the party to cancel and declare that sham they call congress, null and void.

“We stand on the initial position of the party, and present the original concensus Ward to State Executive list as directed by the leadership of the party.

“This was put together by the leaders and stakeholders of the party from across all tendencies and factions within the party here in Delta.

“We would not recognise any other executive other than the consensus executives put together by the leaders and stakeholders, which have been affirmed as the Wards, Local Government Areas and State Executives by all APC faithful across the state,” it said.

It was informed that a settlement was achieved with the majority of State Executive Committee members on a consensus executive list from Wards, Local Government Areas, and state executives.

The agreement was also carried out in accordance with the orders of the APC National Caretaker and the Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC).

It stated that the consensus list was compiled and given to the party in the manner agreed upon, and that it should be followed.

According to the Nigerian News Agency (NAN), the CECPC’s leadership established the Chief John Odigie-Oyegun South-South Reconciliation Committee to bring all aggrieved parties in the South-South States, including Delta, together.

The committee met severally and proffered solutions to the leadership crisis in Delta APC, by setting up a Delta Leaders’ Council comprising of 12 members, with four from each senatorial district of the state. (NAN)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

13 − twelve =