JUST IN: PDP Sweeps Bayelsa Bye-Election


The Peoples Democratic Party have won the bye-elections in Bayelsa Central and West senatorial districts to retain the seats vacated by Governor Douye Diri and his deputy, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo.

In Bayelsa Central, the PDP polled 20,922 votes in Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA; 54,390 in Yenagoa LGA and 44, 707 votes in Southern Ijaw LGA, while the APC scored 4,980 votes; 6,155; and 7,812 votes, respectively.

INEC Returning Officer for Bayelsa Central, Dr Emmanuel Akpan, declared the candidate of the PDP, Moses Cleopas, winner for the district.

Similarly, in Bayelsa West, the PDP polled a total of 115, 257 votes in Ekeremor LGA and 68,156 in Sagbama, while the APC scored 17,541 votes and 7,303 votes, respectively.

READ ALSO: Ijaw Freedom Fighter, Capt. Samuel Owonaro, Buried In Bayelsa

Also, the candidate of the PDP, Seriake Dickson, was also declared winner for the district.

Speaking at the Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre, INEC, Yenagoa, the INEC national commissioner in charge of Bayelsa, Edo and Rivers States, Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu, restated the commission’s commitment to transparency in the electoral process.

“I assure the political parties that we are going to be very transparent and they would have nothing to complain about at the end of the day,” she said.

The state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr Cyril Omorogbe, noted that it had been three hectic days for INEC officials, security agencies and other stakeholders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × 4 =