COVID-19: UK Imposes Travel Ban On 11 African Countries

COVID-19: UK Imposes Travel Ban On 11 African Countries

United Kingdom is imposing a ban on travellers entering England from 11 African countries for an initial period of two weeks.

In a statement on its website, the government explained that the decision was taken in a bid to prevent the spread of a new coronavirus variant identified in South Africa.

While Nigeria is excluded from the list, all the affected countries are in the southern region of the continent.

The UK stated that new evidence has shown that there was an urgent need to halt travel from the countries, adding that entry into England would be banned to those who have travelled from or through the countries in the last 10 days.

The government, however, stressed that the ban does not affect British and Irish nationals, as well as longer-term visa holders and permanent residents in the UK.

It said such persons would be able to enter but would be required to self-isolate for 10 days on arrival along with their household.

Following the ban on the countries, the UK said it has removed Botswana, Seychelles and Mauritius from its travel corridor list, with the changes taking effect from 4am on Saturday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eleven − 3 =