BREAKING: Obaseki Declared Winner Of Edo Governorship Elections (See Results)

OPINION: God-wins, Edo and Lessons Learnt

Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared the winner of the just-concluded Edo governorship election winning a second term as governor of Edo State.

According to the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the state collation centre in Benin, Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat his closest rival, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 223,619 votes.

Subsequently, the governor was returned elected after polling the highest number of votes in the keenly-contested poll conducted on Saturday.

The announcement by the returning officer follows the collation of the results from all the 18 Local Government Areas of Edo where the election was conducted.

READ ALSO: #EdoDecides: Obaseki Secures 12 Of 16 Local Govts., Wins Ize-Iyamu LG

Governor Obaseki’s victory comes at the heels of a tensed and heated electioneering process that saw him dump the APC after being disqualified from the primaries, join the PDP and overcome stiff opposition and criticism by members of his former party, including former ally and his predecessor Adams Oshiomhole.

A political rift between the governor and Oshiomhole which spiraled beyond the state to national politics, saw both men switch parties and square up against each other on platforms they once criticised.

The campaign, characterised by drama and controversy that did not spare the State House of Assembly, was tempered by the intervention of the Oba of Benin to calm fears that the poll could turn violence heightened.

See the results below

AKOKO EDO22,96320,101
ESAN SOUTH EAST9,23710,565
ESAN WEST7,18917,434
OWAN WEST11,19311,485
OWAN EAST19,29514,762
ETSAKO WEST26,14017,959
ESAN CENTRAL6,71910,694
OVIA NORTH EAST9,90716,987
ESAN NORTH EAST6,55913,579
ETSAKO EAST17,01110,668
OVIA SOUTH WEST10,63612,659


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here