Ararume Dropped As NNPC Board Chairman

Ararume Dropped As NNPC Board Chairman
Ararume Dropped As NNPC Board Chairman

Senator Ifeanyi Ararume has been dismissed as Chairman of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Limited by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Senator Ararume was also replaced by Senator Margret Okadigbo, wife of late Senator Chuba Okadigbo, a former President of the Senate and President Buhari’s running partner in 2007 under the All Nigerian Peoples Party, ANPP.

Senator Ararume, who has been at odds with Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State, was named Chairman of the NNPC Board of Directors on September 19, 2021.

The inauguration of the board of directors and management, which was set for November 23, 2021, was postponed by the President.

On Wednesday in Abuja, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Chief Femi Adesina, announced Ararume’s removal from the NNPC Board of Directors and his replacement by Senator Okadigbo.

The statement read: “President Muhammad Buhari has appointed the Board and Management of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited, in accordance with the power vested in him under Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act 2021.

“Chairman of the Board is Senator Margret Chuba Okadigbo (South East), Mele Kolo Kyari, Chief Executive Officer, and Umar I. Ajiya, Chief Financial Officer.

“Other Board Members are; Dr Tajudeen Umar (North East), Mrs Lami O. Ahmed (North Central), Mallam Mohammed Lawal (North West), Engr. Henry Obih (South East), Barrister Constance Harry Marshal (South-South), and Chief Pius Akinyelure(South West).

READ ALSO: Sylvester Oromoni Was Not Murdered – Lagos State Government

“The appointments take effect from the date of the incorporation of the NNPC Limited.

“Also appointed are Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission. They are: Dr Nuhu Habib (Kano), Executive Commissioner, Development and Production, Dr Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (Imo), Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning, Capt. Tonlagha Roland John (Delta), Executive Commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, and Jide Adeola (Kogi), Executive Commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration.

“Earlier appointed are the Board Chairman, CEO, Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management, and Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts.

“New appointees at the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority are Francis Alabo Ogaree (Rivers), Executive Director, Hydrocarbon Processing, Mustapha Lamorde (Adamawa), Executive Director, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, Mansur Kuliya (Kano), Executive Director, Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund, Bashir Sadiq (Sokoto), Executive Director, Corporate Services and Administration, and Dr. Zainab Gobir (Kwara), Executive Director, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning.

“They join the Board Chairman, Executive Director, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure, the CEO, and Executive Director, Finance and Accounts, who had earlier been appointed.

“For Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, new Council Members are; Mr. Effiong Abia (Akwa Ibom), Bobboi Ahmed (Adamawa), and Engr. Abdullahi Bukar (Katsina).

“It will be recalled that President Buhari had last September written the Senate on the administrative structure amendments to the Petroleum Industry Act, which included the appointment of Non-Executive Board Members, removal of the Ministries of Petroleum and Finance from the Board of the two new institutions, and appointment of Executive Directors.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

20 − 11 =